Father.

They told me I only had to face missing you, but it’s not just that; it’s the absence, the emptiness and the void that I face, every day. I have to face your bed, your mug and your old jacket. I have to face hearing your favorite song on the radio while going to School. I have to resist watching that old sitcom you liked so much and to just flip the channel if I happen to pass across it on the television. I have to make my own tea now that you’re not around; I just wish you would’ve told me how you made it so good. I have to listen to them all chatting about their loved ones when I can’t anymore. I have to say ‘he used to’ now, but I don’t want to. I wanna brag about what you used to do, about how I was your little baby girl no matter how tall I’d grown. I wanted to always have our late night talks that lasted till the sun rays sneaked into our window. I wanted to slow dance in your arms to Sinatra’s ‘The way you look tonight’ and feel wonderfully complete. I wanted you to boost my confidence every time I felt like trash. I really did. But you can’t now, can you? You can’t however hard I wanted you to. ‘Cause you’re gone. but the thing is, I never thought you’d leave; that’s what tears my heart apart.

Leave a comment